Posted by: sialater | August 10, 2009

Pep Rallies

We went to visit my husband’s family this weekend. One of my brothers-in-law is 15 (forgive me, T-Rex, if I got your age wrong and you read this), and is on his high school football team. I forget his position, all I know is, he’s defense. (I know only the basics of football, despite my husband and The Lizard’s best efforts to educate me and a desire to watch men in very tight pants run around getting muddy and sweaty. They tell me, every football season, but after the Superbowl, it goes away. )

So, anyway, back to T-Rex. He had a pep rally Saturday night while we were visiting. Now, I’m all for family support, but I didn’t even attend them in my own high school career. However, we were essentially just waiting for it to end so we could go to dinner. Also, the hope of embarrassing T-Rex was there, too. Oh, and yeah… supporting him and stuff. So, the rally started at 7, we arrived at 7:30 (after church) kinda hoping we wouldn’t be there that long.

It ended at 9.

Turns out, it wasn’t really a pep rally, the marching band wasn’t even there. It was more of a meet and greet for the parents to see the program. The cheerleaders and drill team did their thing, the coaches introduced themselves and the football players took their bow. There were just an awful lot of football players. But then, this is Texas, where football is almost as religious an occurrence as church.

It got me to thinking about my own high school experience. I was not, by any stretch of the imagination, popular. In either high school. That’s right, I went to two. The first one, I only remember a handful of mandatory pep rallies, there weren’t many. The second one, I cared marginally more about the high school because I did have a lot of friends there and pep rallies were more fun with friends, even if all you’re doing is making fun of them.

Then, I went to college. I remember a number of pep rallies, but they weren’t really called that. My main concern was, what time did I need to be there and did I need to wear my letters? And if I had to wear my letters, would there be beer? (Which meant no drinking.) But, beer or no, they were fun because I had my friends with me.

Now, being the unpopular sort in high school and strangely enough, being a far more social adult, would I really go back in time and relive my high school years with what I know now? I don’t know. I’d turn out to be a very different person. Certainly a more happy child, but would my current life be that much different?

Leave a Reply

Categories

